This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. By using our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Read more.




37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition

Winners of the 37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition are Announced

'Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition' which brings together cartoons and cartoonists from around the world at a free-thinking platform, is finalized.

In the event organized online for the first time,

Caricature by Reynerio Tamayo from Cuba was awarded the first prize.

At the Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, organized by Aydın Doğan Foundation for the 37th time, with the aim of spreading inter-communal reconciliation, love, friendship, freedom, and peace through caricatures, this year's winners were determined at the jury meeting held online for the first time due to the pandemic.

This year, 930 artists from 83 countries received approximately 4,500 applications for the free-themed Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, which is accepted as the most important competition in the cartoon world, where newsworthy topics around the world are blended with art in a humorous way.

Anita Kunz, who participated from Canada this year, chaired the selection committee of the competition, where world-renowned caricature masters and artists were members of the selection committee, consisting of Ercan Akyol, Latif Demirci, Selçuk Demirel, Shahrokh Heidari (Iran), Moacir Knorr Gutterres (Brazil), Piyale Madra, Peter Nieuwendijk (Netherlands), Tan Oral, Cristina Sampaio (Portugal) and Yuko Shimizu (Japan). Around 90,000 pieces of work from more than 8,800 artists and 137 countries competed.

Winners of the 37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition:

The Selection Committee awarded Reynerio Tamayo from Cuba in the competition this year with the first prize. The second was Mahmood Nazari (Iran) and the third was Mojtaba Heidarpanah (Iran).

The Selection Committee also gave Achievement Awards to; Hamed Mortazavi Alavi (Iran), Borislav Stankovic (Serbia), and Toso Borkovic (Serbia).

The artists who won the first prize and the special prize in the competition were rewarded with 8,000 USD each, the second prize winner USD 3,500 and the third prize winner is awarded 1,500 USD. The three artists who won the Achievement Award will receive 500 US dollars each.

The awards for all the winners and the sculptures symbolizing the winning artists are planned to be presented at the ceremony to be held at the Istanbul Tophane-i Amire Culture and Art Center in November, depending to the conditions of the pandemic.