This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. By using our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Read more.

"Izmir Konak Square and Its Vicinity Arrangement Project" and "Kastamonu Historical Urban Texture Improvement Project"

The 9th Aydın Doğan Award, which is given every year to reward individuals and institutions that have won praise in national and international platforms in various fields such as culture, art, literature, science, is given to "Izmir Konak Square and Its Vicinity Arrangement Project" and "Kastamonu Historical Urban Texture Improvement Project", in the year 2005.


Konak Square, which has long been the most important historical and social center of Izmir; where the city and the sea meet, after years of indecision; is restored for the urban life with a contemporary interpretation, in harmony with the existing urban texture and requirements in terms of architecture and urbanism. In addition to this, the project and implementation were realized as a contemporary urban design service by observing the rules of architecture and urbanism and considering the intensity and willingness of the people of the city to use the newly arranged area after the implementation was completed. For these reasons, the "İzmir Konak Square and Its Vicinity Arrangement Project" was deemed the recipient of the award.

On the other side, Kastamonu, as a city, is going through a transition period of reuniting with a multifaceted history, realized with the use of direct local resources and the participation of private and civil sectors in the public leadership. In this process, many old mansions were restored and brought to urban and public life, as well as the revival of other cultural values of the city that were disappearing and the creation of a cultural center for the first time in the name of an architect (Vedat Tek, the project owner of Kastamonu Government House) and all these with the cooperation of the relevant institutions in the city. This transformation fit with the year’s award category, and thus, the award was given.

The 2005 Aydın Doğan Award Selection Committee consisted of Burhan Doğançay, Oktay Ekinci, Dr. Doğan Hasol, Doğan Hızlan, Faruk Malhan, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Süha Özkan, Prof. Dr. Haluk Pamir, Prof. Dr. Metin Sözen, Murat Tabanlıoğlu, İstemihan Talay and Prof. Dr. İlhan Tekeli.