This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. By using our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Read more.



Melih Cevdet Anday

The 4th Aydın Doğan Award, which is given every year to reward individuals and institutions that have won praise in national and international platforms in various fields such as culture, art, literature, science, is given to Melih Cevdet Anday in the field of ”Poetry”, in the year 2000.


The 2000 Selection Committee consisting of Prof. Dr. İnci Enginün, Adalet Ağaoğlu, Mehmet H. Doğan, Prof. Dr. Mustafa Durak, Doç. Dr. Nüket Esen, Prof. Dr. Talat Halman, Doğan Hızlan and Fethi Naci; has selected Melih Cevdet Anday as the recipient of the year’s award, with his book “Under the Rain” and his contribution to Turkish poetry in his poetry life for more than 60 years, carrying his poetry to a higher level without compromising in every one of his books, and for being a poet who opened new channels of poetry to young generations.