The Owners of the Cartoon Oscars Announced

Created 14 November 2019

The winners of the “Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition”, which brings together cartoons and cartoonists from all corners of the world at a platform of free thought, and the 36th edition of which has been held this year, have been announced. The meeting of the International Jury has been held at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus on November 11, Monday.

The Aydın Doğan Foundation, emphasizing the education and the empowerment of girls, and gender equality in all its activities, also handed out a Special Award for “Empowered Girls, Empowered Futures”, this year too, as the previous year.

This year's winners of the Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, held by the Aydın Doğan Foundation with the goal of spreading inter-society reconciliation, love, friendship, freedom, and peace with cartoons, were announced during the Jury Meeting held at  Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus on November 11, Monday.

The 36th edition of the Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, referred to by the authorities as the "number one cartoon competition across the world", where works that shed light on the world's agenda compete, 583 artists from 63 countries participated with 2,172 cartoons, with independent themes. The Jury evaluated 165 cartoons by 118 artists from 33 countries, who have passed the preliminary elimination round.

There are 9 members this year in the Jury, whereby world-renowned, well-known cartoonists and artists were members, and which has received over 85,000 works of over 8,800 artists from 137 countries to this day. Selçuk Demirel (Turkey) is the president of the Jury, and distinguished individuals such as Anita Kunz (Canada), Ercan Akyol (Turkey), Jaume Capdevila,KAP (Spain), Latif Demirci (Turkey), Peter Ruge (Germany), Piyale Madra (Turkey), Tan Oral (Turkey) and Yoshiaki Yokota (Japan) are members.

Special Award for “Empowered Girls, Empowered Futures” 

During the competition held by the Aydın Doğan Foundation, emphasizing in all its efforts the education and empowerment of girls, and gender equality, the Special Award “Empowered Girls, Empowered Futures” was given this year to the cartoon by Ömer Çam from Turkey, as selected among the cartoons drawn with this theme.

The Winners of the 36th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition

The Jury gave the first place award to Agim Sulaj (Albania), second place award to Shahrokh Heidari (Iran), and the third place award to Mojmir Mihatov (Croatia). Moreover the Jury also gave Achievement Awards to Ahmet Öztürklevent (Turkey), Alberto Morales Ajubel (Spain) and Hicabi Demirci (Turkey).

All artists that have received awards will also be presented with for sculptures and award certificates representing their achievements during a ceremony to be held in Istanbul in June,2020.