33rd Edition of Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition Ends

Created 17 June 2016

Known for the value it places on the art of cartoons, the Aydın Doğan Foundation staged the 33rd outing of the “Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition” this year. The predominantly female International Selection Committee chose the most successful cartoons of the year. The jury meeting was held on Monday, June 13 at Bodrum Işıl Club.

Emphasizing education, empowerment and gender equality for girls at every step of their projects, the Aydın Doğan Foundation handed out a special “Empowered Girls, Empowered World” award as part of this competition.

Acclaimed as “the number one cartoon competition in the world”, the 33rd edition of the Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition drew 752 artists with 2,521 cartoons from 68 countries. No specific theme was set for the competition. The Preliminary Selection Committee convened on Monday June 13, 2016 at Bodrum Işıl Club and submitted 234 cartoons by 183 artists from 44 countries to the International Selection Committee.
Of the 11 members of the Selection Committee, made up of nationally and internationally acclaimed cartoonists since the inception of this competition, 7 jury members are women. Some 85,000 cartoons in all have been submitted to the competition over its 33 year course thus far. This year’s Selection Committee again comprised leading names from the world of the arts and culture: Marlene Pohle (Argentina - Chair), Ercan Akyol (Turkey), Gülse Birsel (Turkey), Assunta Toti Buratti (Italy), Latif Demirci (Turkey), Selçuk Demirel (Turkey), Yalda Hasheminezhad (Iran), Anita Kunz (Canada), Piyale Madra (Turkey), Tan Oral (Turkey) and Elena Ospina (Colombia).

“Empowered Girls, Empowered World” Special Award
Bringing the education, empowerment and gender equality of girls to the forefront at every step of their work, the Aydın Doğan Foundation selected Emrah Arıkan from Turkey for the Special Award among the cartoons submitted for the “Empowered Girls, Empowered World” theme in this year’s competition.

33rd Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition Awards
The Selection Committee picked Marco De Angelis (Italy) for first place with Claudio “Cau” Antonio Gomes (Brazil) as runner up, while the third place award went to Doğan Arslan (Turkey).
The Selection Committee also handed out Special Achievement awards to Oktay Bingöl (Turkey), Vitaly Bondar (Belarus), Evzen David (Czech Republic), Hicabi Demirci (Turkey), Felipe “Feggo” Galindo (USA), Rodrigo Machado da Rosa (Brazil), Raimundo Rucke Santos Souza (Brazil), Arif Sutristanto (Indonesia), Jugoslav Vlahovic (Serbia), Kürşat Zaman (Turkey), Nahid Zamani (Iran), Zygmunt Zaradkiewicz (Poland).

The first place and Special Awards at the Aydın Doğan Foundation International Cartoon Competition are for USD 8,000, while the Second Place winner is awarded USD 5,000 with USD 3,500 going to the Third Place runner up. The Special Achievement Award for respective recipients is USD 500.

All award winning artists are presented with special Award Statues symbolizing their achievement, along with award certificates, during a ceremony to be held in Istanbul.

Award winning cartoons shall be on display at the Milta Bodrum Marina Osmanlı Tersanesi Kaymakamlık Art Gallery from June 16 through the 21st.