Turkish Music: Prof. Dr. Nevzad Atlığ and the Turkish Music Foundation


The 17th Aydın Doğan Award was given to Prof. Dr. Nevzad Atlığ and the Turkish Music Foundation in the “Turkish Music” section.

The Board of the Foundation decided in 2013that the Aydın Doğan Award, organized since 1996 in the name of the founder of the Aydın Doğan Foundation should be granted in the field of “Turkish Music.”

The selection committee for the Aydın Doğan Award given this year in the field of Turkish Music included Prof. Dr. Alaeddin Yavaşça (Chair), Prof. Dr. Adnan Koç, Doğan Hızlan, Erol Sayan, Fatih Salgar, Gönül Paçacı, H. Özgen Gürbüz, Mehmet Güntekin and Serap Mutlu Akbulut, and met on Thursday, February 7th, 2013 where it conducted an open debate and elimination process among the award nominees. The selection committee chose to reward Prof. Dr. Nevzad Atlığ for the long lasting service he has provided throughout his musical career, and for his productive artistic life, and also The Turkish Music Foundation for its lasting, sustainable, efficient and results-oriented projects with the Aydın Doğan Award in “Turkish Music”.

The Aydın Doğan Award rewards creative individuals in cultural, artistic, literary and scientific fields in our country, showing appreciation for their efforts, their devotion, and the quality and excellence of their work, along with people who have earned praise on a national and international level, and who have demonstrated exemplary cultural accumulation since embarking upon their careers, while enhancing the Turkish people’s culture and quality of life.