History: Prof. Dr. İlber Ortaylı


The 2001 Aydın Doğan Award was given in History, and İlber Ortaylı was deemed worthy of the award for his continued work in the field since the early 1970’s, for his published articles and books, for his efforts towards popularizing the science of history, for his activities aimed at fostering interest in history among Turkish people of all ages, for his scientific activities abroad, and in recognition of his being an important Turkish historian known at the international level, not least with his work entitled “The Family in Ottoman History”.

The selection committee for 2001’s Aydın Doğan Award included Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ali Akyıldız, Prof. Dr. Nurhan Atasoy, Prof. Dr. Mahir Aydın, Murat Bardakçı, Dr. Filiz Çağman, Prof. Dr. Edhem Eldem, Prof. Dr. Özer Ergenç, Doğan Hızlan, Orhan Koloğlu, Dr. Nazan Ölçer and Prof. Dr. Mete Tuncay.

Prof. Dr. İlber Ortaylı
Prof. Dr. İlber Ortaylı was born in Austria in 1947 as the son of a Crimean Tatar family in an immigrant camp. He completed his primary and secondary education in İstanbul and Ankara, graduating from Atatürk High School in 1965. He studied at Ankara University Faculty of Political Sciences (1968) and Faculty of Language, History and Geography. He was also educated at the University of Vienna in Slavic and Oriental Studies.

He obtained his master’s degree from Chicago University with the assistance of Prof. Halil İnalcık. In 1978, he earned his PhD from the Ankara Faculty of Political Sciences for his thesis, “Local Governments After the Tanzimat Reform Era”. He became Associate Professor in 1979 for his work “German Influence On The Ottoman Empire,” and Professor in 1989.

He was the head of the Department of Administrative History at the Faculty of Political Sciences between 1989 and 2002. He was transferred to Galatasaray University in 2002, and to Bilkent University two years thereafter. Ortaylı remains the Director of Topkapı Palace. In addition, he is a board member of the International Committee of Ottoman Studies and a member of the European Society of Iranian Studies.